Friday, January 22, 2010

Everyone Wins- Some Get a Medal

Everyone wins who reads.
Everyone who reads to a child, wins.
Everyone who tries their hand at writing, wins.
Everyone feels they win when they get published.
And a few published authors, win a medal, a bronze medal with the winner's name and the date engraved on the back.

The Newbery Medal:

The John Newbery Medal is awarded for outstanding contribution in children's literature.
The 2010 winner: "When You Reach Me" by Rebecca Stead

Four Newbery Honor books were also named:

“Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice” by Phillip Hoose
"The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly
“Where the Mountain Meets the Moon” by Grace Lin
“The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg”

I know.
I've just added more to you BTR list.
(Not really sorry. You're a winner.)

No comments: