ALA announces the 2014 winners

** John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:

“Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures,” written by Kate DiCamillo, is the 2014 Newbery Medal winner.

Four Newbery Honor Books also were named:
“Doll Bones,” written by Holly Black
“The Year of Billy Miller,” written by Kevin Henkes
“One Came Home,” written by Amy Timberlake
“Paperboy,” written by Vince Vawter

** Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

“Locomotive,” illustrated by Brian Floca, is the 2014 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Brian Floca and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing.

“Journey,” written and illustrated by Aaron Becker
“Flora and the Flamingo,” written and illustrated by Molly Idle
“Mr. Wuffles!” written and illustrated by David Wiesner

** Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

“P.S. Be Eleven,” written by Rita Williams-Garcia, is the King Author Book winner. The book is published by Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Three King Author Honor Books were selected:
“March: Book One,” written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell
“Darius & Twig,” written by Walter Dean Myers
“Words with Wings,” written by Nikki Grimes

** Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

“Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, is the King Illustrator Book winner. The book was written by Daniel Beaty and published by Little, Brown and Company, Hachette Book Group.

One King Illustrator Honor Book was selected:
“Nelson Mandela,” illustrated and written by Kadir Nelson

** Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award:

“When the Beat Was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop,” illustrated by Theodore Taylor III, is the Steptoe winner. The book is published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership.

** Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement:

** Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

“Midwinterblood,” written by Marcus Sedgwick, is the 2014 Printz Award winner.

Four Printz Honor Books also were named:
“Eleanor & Park,” written by Rainbow Rowell
“Kingdom of Little Wounds,” written by Susann Cokal
“Maggot Moon,” written by Sally Gardner, illustrated by Julian Crouch
“Navigating Early,” written by Clare Vanderpool

** Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

“A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin,” written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet
“Handbook for Dragon Slayers,” written by Merrie Haskell

The teen (ages 13-18) award winner is “Rose under Fire,” written by Elizabeth Wein and published by Hyperion, an imprint of Disney Book Group.

** Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:

 “Brewster,” written by Mark Slouka
“The Death of Bees,” written by Lisa O’Donnell
“Golden Boy: A Novel,” written by Abigail Tarttelin
“Help for the Haunted,” written by John Searles
“Lexicon: A Novel,” written by Max Barry
“Lives of Tao,” written by Wesley Chu
“Mother, Mother: A Novel,” written by Koren Zailckas
“Relish,” written by Lucy Knisley
“The Sea of Tranquility: A Novel,” written by Katja Millay
“The Universe Versus Alex Woods,” written by Gavin Extence

** Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children's video:
Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard of Weston Woods Studios, Inc., producers of “Bink & Gollie: Two for One,” are the Carnegie Medal winners.

** Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults:
Markus Zusak is the 2014 Edwards Award winner. His books include: “The Book Thief” and “I Am the Messenger,” published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, and “Getting the Girl” and “Fighting Ruben Wolfe,” published by Arthur A. Levine, an imprint of Scholastic.

** William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens:
“Charm & Strange,” written by Stephanie Kuehn, is the 2014 Morris Award winner.

Four other books were finalists for the award:
 “Sex & Violence,” written by Carrie Mesrobian
“Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets,” written by Evan Roskos
“Belle Epoque,” written by Elizabeth Ross
“In the Shadow of Blackbirds,” written by Cat Winters

** YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:
“The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi,” written by Neal Bascomb, is the 2014 Excellence winner. The book is published by Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.

Four other books were finalists for the award:
“Go: A Kidd’s Guide to Graphic Design,” written by Chip Kidd
“Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans During World War II,” written by Martin W. Sandler
“Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickles, America’s First Black Paratroopers,” written by Tanya Lee Stone
“The President Has Been Shot! The Assassination of John F. Kennedy,” written by James L. Swanson


Makes me want to write more literary books.

Popular posts from this blog

Contests Around the Web

One-Sentance Summary

Summer TIme Livin'